WCC#15: Lemon Yogurt Cake

April 10, 2007 at 2:09 pm | Posted in cakes & tortes, events, simple cakes, sweet things | 7 Comments

lemon yogurt cake

We’re in the middle of autumn here in the Southern Hemisphere, but a fall day in Sydney feels a lot like a typical spring day in New York to me.  The weather is cool and comfortable, and it’s perfect for baking.  I’m hoping to just sneak in under deadline for the Weekend Cookbook Challenge (Easter/springtime food is the theme), hosted this month by Marta from An Italian in the US, with the dessert I whipped up for Easter.  

Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at Home is a book that I bought shortly before moving to Sydney.  And in the chaos that accompanies a move, I didn’t have any time to make anything from it.  Flipping through it recently, I saw a recipe for lemon yogurt loaf cake– no mixer required!  Lemon, to me, is a  flavor that matches the snappy, sunny weather outside. 

lemons and zest

What I like best about this cake is that not only is it glazed (and who doesn’t love glaze?!), but it’s also soaked with a lemon simple syrup.  The syrup and the yogurt/vegetable oil combo keep it moist for a couple of days, which is good when you’re cooking for two.  It’s perfect before bed with a cup of chamomile tea.

lemon yogurt cake

I see that this recipe is also on Food Network’s website.  Rather than me retyping it, you can print a copy here if you don’t have the book.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow.. this looks SO good!! I want to try a piece!!

  2. I take a piece, that looks so yummy!

  3. Thanks Marta and Ulrike! It’s really easy to make (if you can’t pop by in Sydney)!

  4. I’m tagging this recipe right now – it looks absolutely divine!

  5. Your’s looks even better than the one on the Food TV web page!

  6. Patrica- Hope you make it sometime.

    Barbara- I’m so flattered, thank you! My photgraphic skills are usually a little lacking…

  7. I’ve made this many times. Sometimes I stir fresh blueberries into the batter. My family likes it instead of shortcake with fresh berries and topped with a dollop of good Greek yogurt flavored with honey and vanilla. I also use non-fat yogurt in the batter to cut fat and calories.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.