Food Fight #2: Crêpes for Mum

May 4, 2007 at 10:28 pm | Posted in events, savory things | 2 Comments

crepes with turkey, cheese and asparagus

My mother is a Dutch girl, born and raised in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  In her heart though, I think she is Parisian.  She spent time in studying in Paris during university and returned after graduation for a few more years.  She still speaks French fluently, attends Francophile events in Seattle and keeps up with the country’s politics and trends.

My mother is a very good home cook.  Although she may sometimes regard cooking as a bit of a chore, you’d never know by her food.  French, of course, and easy to make, crêpes are a favorite of hers, not to mention mine.  Both sweet andsavory, crêpes are certainly delicious.  Thus,  I am submitting a crêpe dish as my entry for the second installment of Food Fight (Your Mother’s Favorite Dish), hosted by Allen at Eating Out Loud.     

Here, I’ve made them for dinner.  I used a filling of smoked turkey, Swiss cheese and roasted asparagus.  I already had these ingredients in the fridge just waiting to be used up, but really you could use almost any tasty filling combination.  A nice melting cheese is always a good inclusion.

crepes with turkey, cheese and asparagus

Knowing that a whole batch of crêpes would be too much for just two of us to eat in one sitting, I made a very basic recipe that can accommodate either sweet or savory fillings (i.e., no sugar and not too much salt).  That way I could save the extras, wrapped and refrigerated of course, and turn them into dessert or breakfast crêpes (a little apricot jam in the center– oh my gosh!) within a couple of days.  The recipe I used is attributed to Gourmet Magazine, but can be found here on Food Network’s website.

The batter comes together in a snap– let your blender or food processor do all the work.  It needs a little time to rest before it’s used, and it can even be made the day before.  It is true that the first crêpes out of the pan is often not too pretty, but hey, that’s the “cook’s treat,” right?  Now that I think about it, a little triangular stuffed crêpe is almost like a wrapped present.  Happy Mother’s Day, or Fête des Mères!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back often!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.