Daring Bakers in December: Yule Log

December 22, 2007 at 9:25 am | Posted in cakes & tortes, daring bakers, groups, sweet things | 54 Comments

yule log

‘Tis the season…to eat cake shaped like tree branches!  I love holiday baking (wish I’d gotten to do more of it this year) and I absolutely love yule log, or Bûche de Noël.  If you were wondering what the Daring Bakers would be up to for the holidays, this is it!  Or hosts, the co-founders of the group, Ivonne and Lisa chose a yule log, a symbol of light and warmth for this month’s challenge.

yule log

A Bûche de Noël is usually a genoise sponge cake rolled up with a filling, cut to resemble a log and frosted with buttercream.  Then it gets all kinds of slightly wacky decorations.  Mushrooms are a traditional yule log decoration.  Don’t worry–I’m taking about sweet sugar mushrooms!  We were able to chose to make our ‘shrooms from either meringue or marzipan. Not being a huge marzipan fan, I went the meringue route.  I dusted them with cocoa and a little gold luster dust.  My log came from a magical, sparkley forest!

yule log

I have made a couple of yule logs in the past, so I knew the general drill. The genoise sponge we used was slightly different from ones I’ve made in the past. This one had no butter and used cornstarch…more like a ladyfinger recipe I’ve used many times. I decided to keep my sponge plain in flavor, but I was worried it would dry out in the fridge, so I soaked it with a rum simple syrup before rolling it. We had to use coffee buttercream to frost the cake (which was fine by me),  and it was made Swiss-meringue style.

I didn’t have any real problems making the yule log.  The most difficult part was deciding on a filling, as we could chose whatever we wanted to roll our cakes up with.  I decided to do a chocolate mousse filling.  It set up nicely and went well with the coffee and rum flavors in the other components.  Decorating the cake was a lot of fun, and we certainly had no difficulty eating it up!

yule log

I am flying to the States today for the holidays. I’m very excited about the trip, but it means I may not be able to comment on as many of my fellow DBer’s posts as I would like. I apologize for that, but do check out the Daring Bakers’ blogroll and see all the beautiful Bûche that were made!  Ivonne has the recipe on her site.  Happy holidays!

DB whisk

54 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just Gorgeous! I love the look of it.IYour mushrooms look so real!

  2. Great job Steph! It’s still Friday in my part of the world, and since i don’t intend to bake until Sunday, I’m going to benefit from the wisdom of all you early-posters!

  3. I want to know about the platter your Yule Log is sitting on… I can just make out that great pattern…

  4. Wow, ok, your mushrooms are out of this world! Beautiful.

  5. Steph,
    Very nicely done! The mushrooms look great as well. Merry Christmas!

  6. Beautiful! I love the gold luster dust. So glam 🙂
    Happy Holidays.

  7. Steph, of course, it looks wonderful! I always anticipate your post with these challenges. Sparkly mushrooms and the swirls on the log look great! Have a great time at home!

  8. That’s true, the mushrooms are great and the yule itself : wow ! I like the chocolate spiral !

  9. This looks great! I wish you happy holidays

  10. I love the glittery mushrooms!

  11. Now THAT’S a pretty Yule log! I love the gold luster.. very whimsical. =)

    I just took a moment to skim through some of your recent posts, and I must say you are a very talented baker! I especially love the cupcakes you come up with – gorgeous! =)

    Another fantabulous DB challenge, Steph! Way to go!

    xoxo

  12. Beautiful..does look magical and sparkly indeed 🙂

  13. Your Bûche looks wonderful! Have a great trip to the states! We are happy you’re stopping by. 🙂

  14. great great job! and buttercream looks so good! so smooth and shiny!

  15. Stunning! Have a safe flight and happy holidays!!

  16. Love the piping on the ends. Bet it tasted as good as it looks!

  17. Your yule log rocks! It did come from a distant sparkley forest and I love it. Great job!

  18. Your log is beautiful! And I love those mushrooms!

  19. Ooh I like the sparkly on the mushrooms!

  20. Wow, chocolate mousse filling. That sounds delicious! Anyway, I’m not a big fan of marzipan either so I made meringues. They’re so tasty that now I’m totally addicted to them! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  21. Looks great, Your buttercream is so light looking!

  22. Lovely mushrooms!

  23. Great looking shrooms there!

  24. Yum! Your yule log looks great! (From one DB to another!!!)

  25. Great job, I was going to do chocolate mousse with pears and went with chocolate buttercream instead. Your log and mushrooms look fabulous!

  26. The whole thing is lovely! Merry Christmas!

  27. It looks yummy. I love how you have added swirls to the ends of your logs.

  28. Simply gorgeous – love the mousse idea!

  29. Great job. Have a safe trip and a very Merry Christmas!

  30. Love the sparkly forest!!

  31. Love the golddust on the mushrooms and the chocolate filling and detailing. Fantastic job.

  32. Merry Christmas to you and yours, Steph!

  33. Beautiful! Love the swirl 🙂

  34. such a lovely log!! great job on the challenge

  35. I’m pretty envious of your glitter, great log!

  36. Merry Christmas, Stephanie! And have a safe, happy, healthy New Year!

  37. Oh My goodness, check out the sheen on that buttercream! With so many folks coming un-stuck (ho ho) when it came to buttercream, you are surely one of the buttercream queens. Well done!

  38. You’re right — definitely from a magic forest. I love the delicate chocolate swirls, and the gold luster dust is just the right touch. Have a marvelous trip, and merry Christmas!

  39. Your log looks like a perfect angel! Loved the silkiness of the buttercream and how pure it looks! Great job!

  40. Are you absolutely sure those aren’t real mushrooms? 🙂 They look SO authentic! I also really love the chocolate swirls on the ends, very pretty!

  41. I like your kind of ‘magic mushrooms’! 😉

  42. That’s one fantastic looking bûche de Noël.

    Happy Holidays!

    Julius from Occasional Baker

  43. Your log and mushrooms look perfect! Great job!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  44. I love the magical sparkly forest mushrooms!
    Lovely yule log and I hope you have a great trip!
    Best wishes for a happy 2008 too!
    xoxo
    Gabi

  45. That last picture is stunning! Congratulations on a beautiful Yule Log.

  46. Wonderful job!! It looks great!

  47. Oooh, the swirly chocolate decoration is great! Your yule log turned out wonderfully. Congratulations on a job well done 🙂

  48. Your log looks perfect. I love how you made your bark look so good. You didn’t go too deep. The chocolate rings are great too. The mushrooms are cute too. Wendy

  49. your yule log looks fantastic, and the mushrooms seems so perfect! waoh!

  50. Wow – your Yule log turned out so well. I wish I had read this post prior to attempting one myself. Great photography as well.

  51. Great presentation!

  52. It looks wonderful. Inspiring really:-)
    happy new year.
    X M

  53. Your cake turned out so pretty, and I love the gold dust on the shrooms. Lovely job!

  54. I love how you swirled the tree rings on – so pretty! Someday, I’ll master meringue mushrooms…


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.